Snapshot

Today I decided to take a “snapshot” of where I am currently at. But instead of taking a before shot of my body I have decided to focus on my thinking. After all, what I think deciphers what I choose and my choices have not been serving me well lately. Well, at least not the choices I have been making in regards to my diet and exercise.

When I think about a photograph, an Instagram post or a Snapchat, I think of a moment in time captured, acknowledged and archived. Yes, we can recall a memory or revisit a time through photographs and video footage but when all is said and done they are simply moments. So, rather than weighing myself and taking an unhappy selfie producing thoughts of defeat or disgust I am choosing to take a snapshot of where I am currently at. Yes, I will weigh myself and take measurements as well as take a photo but this is not all. My “snapshot” includes a report or assessment of my well being and thinking patterns. Without emotion I am simply stating; recording; observing where I am currently at as a means to measure my overall health.

one day win (29)I will complete these sentences perhaps once every 4 weeks to see how the choices I am making are really impacting me. My rules are simple. Be honest. Be factual. And don’t be afraid to face the truth. Nothing is stopping you from changing…except yourself. You are free to choose differently and you are not locked into your past. You are no longer obliged to keep being the person you have been. So…I have a cuppa, a notebook and a pen and I am ready to get real.

one day wins (6)

 

I feel physically…

I feel emotionally…

My daily routine includes…

My dream is to…

I think a lot about…

My hope is that…

I avoid making changes by…

My excuses include…

The thing I would most like to change is…

What would need to be true for this to change?…

one day win (30)My responses will be archived for now. But I look forward to sharing them down the track as I recognise the changes in my thinking along with my before and progress photos. Today’s win is facing the difficult truths and beginning to entertain my crazy, big dreams as possible.

Leave a Reply

